In 2024, Amazon let TikTok and Pinterest users buy products from Amazon ads without leaving those apps. In 2026, Amazon blocked Meta’s Muse from shopping on Amazon.com for users. A shopper could begin in a social interface either way; Amazon accepted one route to checkout and refused the other.

Key takeaways

  • Amazon enabled purchases of Amazon-advertised products within TikTok and Pinterest in 2024.
  • Sensor Tower counted 10.2 million U.S. Muse downloads in the app’s first 40 days.
  • Meta said more than 25% of Muse’s more than 10 million users had made purchases through the app, with an average purchase above $200.
  • Shopify plans to connect Muse to Shop Pay for checkout at Shopify-powered stores.
  • Meta issued a hotfix after a researcher reported that a Muse authentication token on a Mac could be accessed by any app or terminal command.

The feed learned to find demand before it could carry an order

The original social-commerce bargain gave each party a familiar job. A platform identified likely buyers, a merchant presented products, and a checkout system handled the purchase. Amazon’s arrangements with TikTok and Pinterest extended that bargain into the feed: users could buy Amazon-advertised items without leaving the social apps, while Amazon supplied the products and the authorized path to purchase.

By 2025, Etsy and eBay were adopting personalization tactics associated with Instagram, TikTok, and Pinterest to help shoppers discover products. Google later made Images a browsable, Pinterest-like gallery. Catalogs were borrowing the feed’s ability to surface a plausible choice before a shopper could name it. Pinterest showed that discovery remained a substantial business in its own right: it reported 640 million monthly active users and $1.18 billion in second-quarter revenue, up 18% year over year. The available results show an advertising-led model growing; they do not show that owning checkout would have earned Pinterest more.

Social platforms are moving from selling merchants access to attention toward orchestrating purchases. Muse makes the possibility visible early, but the durable asset is a route from recommendation to payment that a user can control, a merchant permits, and a checkout partner can execute—not merely an audience large enough to receive another recommendation.

Muse can show purchase activity without proving a marketplace

Meta had an active decision surface before its reported shopping milestone. Internal figures put Muse above three million weekly users who submitted at least one prompt and one million daily active users who had sent a prompt. Separately, Sensor Tower counted 10.2 million U.S. downloads in Muse’s first 40 days and 10.9 million downloads overall after its September debut. Downloads measure installation, not the number of people who kept asking the agent for help.

Mark Zuckerberg then said Muse had drawn more than 10 million users, that more than 25% were making purchases through the app, and that the average purchase exceeded $200. Those are Meta-reported purchasing measures, not an independently measured transaction ledger. Meta has not established repeat-purchase frequency, merchant retention, gross merchandise value, a platform take rate, or profit from those orders. A first purchase proves that a recommendation can reach a payment event; it does not establish what happens on the next visit.

Meta’s agent-distribution strategy gives Muse more places to gather context than a conventional product page. Meta plans email addresses and Mac computer use for Muse agents, alongside smart-glasses support and video chat. It also says its Ohio Prometheus supercluster trained the Muse model family and is scaling toward roughly one million GPUs, while Wonder is planned for subscribers and specialized models for wider use. In the coverage record’s 2024-to-2026 comparison, research-framed Muse articles rose from 0% to 30.2% as consumer-framed articles fell from 100% to 48.8%. Those are classifications of coverage, not evidence that Muse learns from completed orders. They reflect how much engineering now sits behind an apparent shopping conversation.

Shop Pay supplies a checkout route Muse cannot build by recommending

For an AI agent, recommending a lamp and buying it are different acts. The first can end with a suggestion. The second needs a particular merchant to accept an order, a payment service to process it, and a user’s authorization for that purchase. Shopify’s plan to connect Muse to Shop Pay would let the agent complete purchases at Shopify-powered stores through Shopify’s one-tap checkout service. The proposed integration gives Meta a route through an existing merchant and payment relationship; the available evidence does not specify its approval controls, revenue split, or what purchase information would return to Muse.

Other assistants have reached the same boundary by different routes. Microsoft launched Copilot Checkout in the United States with partners including PayPal, Shopify, and Stripe, while Shopify merchants were automatically enrolled. OpenAI, by contrast, scaled back direct shopping inside ChatGPT in favor of checkout in the applications connected to it. OpenAI’s change leaves a useful distinction intact: an assistant may influence the choice without operating the final transaction. A completed purchase need not give the assistant ownership of the checkout.

Amazon can refuse the agent even when shoppers want it

Amazon blocked Muse from accessing Amazon.com to shop for users, citing terms-of-service violations, security risks, and lack of merchant consent. Amazon had already shown, through its TikTok and Pinterest arrangements, that it would bring checkout into someone else’s interface. Its objection to Muse concerned the route the agent took into Amazon’s storefront. Consumer demand could not grant Muse merchant permission.

User permission has its own weak point. A researcher reported that any app or terminal command on a Mac could access a token used to authenticate a user to a Muse account; Meta said it issued a hotfix. The report does not establish that anyone used the flaw to make a purchase. It does show why an agent allowed to act for a person needs more than a persuasive conversation about what that person wants. Meta has not specified in the available reports how Muse handles recurring payment permissions or how users approve and revoke them. A workable consent architecture would have to keep permission to suggest separate from permission to spend.

Frequently asked questions

Has the Shop Pay integration for Muse launched?

The available evidence describes it as a Shopify plan, not a completed launch. It does not provide a launch date or confirm that Muse users can already use Shop Pay.

What fees or revenue split will apply to purchases completed through Muse and Shop Pay?

The available evidence does not specify a revenue split, platform fee, or merchant charge. It also does not say what purchase data, if any, would return to Muse.

How will a Muse user approve, limit, or revoke spending authority?

Meta had not specified in the available reports how Muse handles recurring payment permissions or how users approve and revoke them. The reported hotfix addressed a token-access issue, not the broader payment-consent design.

Does Muse’s reported purchase activity show how much merchandise it has sold?

No. Meta did not disclose gross merchandise value, repeat-purchase frequency, merchant retention, take rate, or profit from orders, so the reported user and average-purchase figures cannot establish total transaction volume.

Muse’s reported early commerce metrics

MeasureReported figureScope or timing
Users>10 millionSince launch
Users making purchases>25%Meta-reported share of Muse users
Average purchase>$200Meta-reported average per purchase
U.S. downloads10.2 millionFirst 40 days
Total downloads10.9 millionSince September debut

Amazon shut its storefront to Muse; Shopify is preparing a Shop Pay entrance. The shopping list can travel with the agent, but the merchant still holds the door key.