AEP plans to invest about $4 billion in a Wyoming fuel-cell project under a 20-year power deal with Google. It uses Bloom Energy technology, not FuelCell Energy’s, as some U.S. data-center developers face grid-access waits of up to seven years.

Key takeaways

  • AEP plans to invest about $4 billion in its Wyoming Cheyenne Fuel Cell project.
  • Google’s power agreement with AEP’s Cheyenne Fuel Cell has a 20-year term.
  • U.S. data-center developers have reported grid-access waits of up to seven years.
  • PJM Interconnection proposed in January 2026 that large data centers provide their own generation or curtail demand to reduce outage risk.
  • Data Center Alley has more than 200 data centers and uses roughly as much electricity as Boston.

A stalled grid connection can leave a server-filled campus idle. Developers are seeking local generation and flexible workloads, taking on power constraints they once left largely to utilities.

Interconnection schedules now govern compute deployment

A December 2025 coverage estimate put Big Tech’s additional AI data-center capacity needs at 44 GW by 2028. Separately, developers in the United States reported grid-access waits of up to seven years and began using aeroderivative turbines and diesel generators. The estimate describes planned demand; the wait describes what some projects face. Neither says how much of the 44 GW will run on-site. Together, they explain why a developer might pay for a second route to electricity.

PJM Interconnection proposed in January 2026 that large data centers bring their own generation or curtail demand to reduce outage risk. PJM offered two ways to make a large new load manageable, not a blanket endorsement of private power plants. A developer that can credibly offer either option has something to bring to an interconnection discussion besides a request for capacity.

Generators are moving from outage response to first power

The older data-center design gives on-site generation a narrower job. In The Datacenter as a Computer, Barroso, Hölzle and Ranganathan describe an uninterruptible power supply bridging a utility failure while a generator starts and takes its rated load, typically 10–15 seconds later. The generator preserves an operating site; it does not decide whether the site can open.

On January 1, 2026, SemiAnalysis reported AI labs deploying on-site gas generators to supply compute infrastructure because the U.S. grid was struggling to meet demand. Developers building local power plants then take on permitting and supply-chain constraints themselves. Gas turbines and diesel equipment also carry emissions and community-acceptance costs.

Movable workloads reduce the capacity a site must buy

Google agreed with two utilities to pause non-essential AI workloads during demand surges or weather-related disruptions. A later National Grid and Nvidia trial found that AI data centers could adjust consumption when asked rather than draw peak power continuously. In September 2026, Google, Nvidia and Emerald AI formed an alliance to advance data centers that shift workloads, use stored energy or temporarily reduce demand.

Those moves give a developer a second lever alongside generation. Power capping has a cost: as Barroso and Hölzle note, limiting aggregate server power can compromise availability when processing demand peaks. A utility needs to know which jobs can stop, for how long and who can issue the command; the distributed-power control plane must enforce those limits. Flexible compute can reduce the amount of always-on local supply a campus needs, though some workloads cannot be interrupted.

Neither fuel-cell project names FuelCell Energy

Oracle provides a concrete procurement test. Coverage of its Project Jupiter in New Mexico says permitting hurdles drove a pivot from gas turbines to costlier fuel cells, adding billions to the project’s cost. Oracle’s choice shows that permitting can outweigh equipment price in a particular project. It does not show that fuel cells clear permits faster everywhere.

Google’s power deal is with AEP’s Cheyenne Fuel Cell. The Wyoming project is planned, not an operating-plant result; its 20-year term does not establish when the first megawatt will reach a data center.

Neither Oracle’s project nor AEP’s plan names FuelCell Energy, and no other cited report identifies a data-center customer, bid or deployment for it. A buyer weighing the company against turbines, diesel and other fuel cells would need site-specific delivery timing, permits, fuel economics and operating performance.

A site can protect itself and unsettle the grid

Reuters reported that data centers switching to local generators can disconnect from the grid without warning, potentially contributing to cascading outages. The stakes rise when sites concentrate: Data Center Alley contains more than 200 data centers and consumes roughly as much electricity as Boston. Local uptime and system reliability are different engineering tests.

Frequently asked questions

When will AEP’s Cheyenne fuel-cell project begin supplying Google, and how large will it be?

The cited material does not provide a first-power date or a megawatt capacity for the planned Wyoming project. Its 20-year contract term describes duration, not a commercial-operation deadline.

Has PJM adopted its January 2026 proposal for large data centers to bring generation or curtail demand?

The evidence identifies it as a proposal, not a final adopted rule. It does not state whether PJM subsequently approved, modified or implemented it.

What fuel will the Cheyenne fuel-cell project use, and what will its emissions profile be?

The evidence names Bloom Energy as the technology provider but does not specify the fuel, emissions level or environmental permit conditions. Those details would be necessary to assess fuel cost exposure and local permitting risk.

Does Oracle’s shift from gas turbines to fuel cells prove that fuel cells will be easier to permit elsewhere?

No. The reported switch was driven by permitting hurdles specific to Project Jupiter in New Mexico; the evidence does not establish a general permitting advantage for fuel cells across other sites or jurisdictions.

How data-center power responses emerged

  • 2025-03-20 — Reuters reported that Data Center Alley, with more than 200 data centers, consumes roughly as much electricity as Boston.
  • 2026-01-01 — SemiAnalysis reported AI labs deploying on-site gas generators as the U.S. grid struggled to meet AI-infrastructure demand.
  • January 2026 — PJM Interconnection proposed that large data centers bring their own generation or curtail demand to reduce outage risk.
  • 2026-03-03 — A National Grid and Nvidia trial found that AI data centers could adjust consumption when asked rather than draw peak power continuously.
  • September 2026 — Google, Nvidia and Emerald AI formed an alliance to advance data centers that shift workloads, use stored energy or temporarily reduce demand.

The $4 billion Cheyenne project names Bloom but has yet to demonstrate an operating result. Any contender, FuelCell Energy included, must meet the date a campus needs without making its neighbors carry the risk.